Dance and Dress Your Way to Positive Energy

I am having a disco moment: understated adornment is not the goal. Remember those giggling school dances, hedonistic university night clubs and embarrassing wedding discos? The thing they have in common is throwing any dancing or dressing inhibition to the sound-wave induced wind. Energetic liberation from our work time demanding, fashion imposing, social media bombarding world can be found in swaying to the rhythm of your favourite songs and being hypnotised by the kaleidoscopic light rays.

2015-06-04 20.58.40 2015-06-04 22.16.38

Speaking honestly, my sport-work balance has not enabled me to have a night dancing until dawn for a while, the closest I have gotten to a dance floor is attending a Take That concert with my mum in June. These guys, now middle-aged, are still great showmen with outlandish outfits and dazzling strobes who get all ages up on their feet. There is a saying (probably French) that when you are dressing you should remove the last item you put on; that night I ignored this rule and wore every accessory I fancied.

  My solid silver bracelet from Peru.

The lime quartz ring I bought from the Kew Gardens weekend market by Chokerbali. Here is my blog post about purchasing it. Appropriately quartz has been called the “Universal Crystal” because it enhances energy by absorbing, storing, amplifying, balancing, focusing and transmitting energy. Quartz also supposedly dispels negativity.

The traditional New Zealand cow bone necklace came from a native nanny about ten years ago. Amongst many things it is meant to bring safety to those travelling over water, great seeing as I frequently go abroad. The diamond cross was given to my dad from Singaporean clients to give to my mum. The chain necklace is a random find from my jewellery box stash.

At the moment I can not get enough sequins, texture and anything shiny, soon I will be giving RuPaul and any drag race a run for their money. Fortunately, fashion seems to be agreeing with me in infusing disco energy into our images. Well, all the world’s a stage is it not?


Images from British Vogue‘s August issue.

This entry was published on July 18, 2015 at 22:33. It’s filed under Personal Shopping, SSF Considers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

