Following in Shackleton’s Foot Steps

As an eleven year old I dreamed of following one of my heroes, Ernest Shackleton, to Antarctica. Fourteen years of dreaming and 3.5 years of planning later I am about to board a plane to begin fulfilling the dream.

Despite our travel coordinator providing us a recommended packing list, I still took nearly two hours to actually work out what was going in my suitcase.

Somehow I am meant to close this suitcase...

Somehow I am meant to close this suitcase…

2015-03-01 16.17.23

To blend in with the fauna I am taking the hand painted porcelain penguin ring, which I named ‘Pinga’, which my brother gave me for my birthday. Bought at the Natural History Museum in London, it was designed and crafted by And Mary.

Pinga is going home for her holiday. Hoping she will want to come back with me,

Pinga is going home for her holiday. Hoping she will want to come back with me,

2015-03-01 09.53.32

So I am off. It will be no surprise to you that I will not be sending a word until I am back.

This entry was published on March 1, 2015 at 16:41. It’s filed under Personal Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

