A Night at Ronnie Scott’s

The musicians Ronnie Scott and Pete King opened what would become a legendary jazz venue on 30 October 1959 in a basement at 39 Gerrard Street in London’s Soho before moving to a larger venue at 47 Frith Street in 1965. The club? Ronnie Scott’s. For years, the name has resounded in my head, becoming a firm conviction that I must visit. Last Friday, I made it.

rs1 rs02 rs3 rs5 rs6

Dashing from work, I barely let the bounces ask me whether I had a reservation or not. Shown through the swing doors in to the main room, I entered a jazz harem. Blood red lights barely lit the room, allowing the stage lights to draw attention to the musicians. Circular tables were grouped in front of the stage whilst rows of tables seating four on one side skirted the edge. Jazz, and no talking, was the order or the day and the words of the evening’s maestro, Arturo Sandoval, confirmed that. Wining and dining (when the plates eventually made it to us) to jumping jazz sent me to ecstasy. The club was worthy of the legend.

“Smart casual” was the dress code stated on the Ronnie Scott’s website. My attempt at this comprised a traditional Peruvian jacket with black skinny jeans, boots and t-shirt for what I thought was sophisticatedly cultured. El Centro de Textiles Tradicionales de Cusco (The Center for Traditional Textiles of Cusco) is a temple, in the very heart of this vibrant Peruvian city, for those who love sourcing quality ethnic textiles. As a non-profit organisation goes, it is a chic looking boutique and museum which helps secure the future of traditional Peruvian textile skills by offering craftsmen a commercial outlet. Considering you are viewing some of the country’s finest woven pieces the prices are justified and is the reason I asked my gran to give this to me for my birthday.

2015-02-22 21.17.19 2015-02-22 21.17.36 2015-02-22 21.17.44

This entry was published on February 22, 2015 at 22:46. It’s filed under Personal Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

