One Love: One Garment

How did you welcome in 2015? My celebrations were with my former uni friends in one of their flats in my romper suit. With the same group of friends last year we had dressed in black tie but this time round the host had the super idea to head to the extreme by having a slumber party. Of course one of the girls came in sexy PJs, some (including me) dressed in the comical, whilst the rest literally came in what they normally wear in bed. It was the comfiest and relaxed New Year’s Eve I have ever had the pleasure of remembering.

Age might not be an indication of maturity.

Age might not be an indication of maturity.

The host (left) shows some muscle in s Superman 'slanket' whilst his bessie gets his claws out in a tiger onsie.

The host (left) shows some muscle in s Superman ‘slanket’ whilst his bessie gets his claws out in a tiger onsie.

2014-12-31 19.08.26

Riding the train fearlessly in my cow print rompers suit.

Riding the train fearlessly in my cow print rompers suit.

Although I could not actually slumber at the host’s residence as I had to be up for work on New Year’s Day I was there long enough to once again be reminded of the priorities I should make in life: surrounding myself with those that matter. This sentiment got my memories of 2014 flowing and somehow led me to think of a t-shirt. During my adventures in Romania with an Aussie buddy who I met whilst studying in China, we managed to do some impressive thrift shopping in Sibiu, a former European Capital of Culture. As a child I had loved Barbie and Christmas. Playing with Barbie, I could act out my hopes and dreams for my adult life; then Christmas was about anticipation, family and surprises. When I saw a t-shirt combining the two I could not resist.

A thrift win in Sibiu, Romania.

A thrift win in Sibiu, Romania.

The first time I wore it was to take my longest standing and best friend to the National Trust property Polesden Lacey, she had just suffered a break-up and needed to get out of the city. Making the most of a Sunday off from work, we then had dinner with her friends from school who I had travelled with in India whilst on my Gap Year at Comptoir Libanais.

Rocking around with my friends in my Festive Friends Barbie t-shirt.

Rocking around with my friends in my Festive Friends Barbie t-shirt.

Furthering our cultural experiences at a Lebanese restaurant in London.

Furthering our cultural experiences at a Lebanese restaurant in London.

Hopefully you can kind of see where my tangent has come from: one garment connects my favourite emotions and people. Make 2015 about those you love.

2014-12-31 23.32.38

This entry was published on January 2, 2015 at 22:13. It’s filed under SSF Considers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

