Bah-Bah Black Sheep Talks to Men: the best jumpers for guys

I have literally a wardrobe of knitwear; mohair, cashmere, merino wool, whatever wool, I probably have it. Just look at the photo above and my post on how I combined dance apparel with knitwear. I feel the cold terribly so never leave the house without a jumper. Too often when it comes to knitwear people fall in to plain and traditional camps. Of course, you need something which coordinates with many outfits but if you are wearing the same couple of pullovers most days Winter, an already dark and bleak season, can become even more repetitive. Now, I know jazzy Christmas jumpers have now become de rigeur but I want to help you find something practical but not boring.

Although I mentioned that I have many Winter woollies, this post is actually to help men. Here are my top woollen pullover picks for you.

Olive Herringbone Hooded Bomber (£795 at Richard James).

Olive Herringbone Hooded Bomber (£795 at Richard James).

In my eyes, Richard James rarely does anything wrong when it comes to updating classics for the modern man. With their wonderfully warm, sublimely soft to touch English-made 100% wool olive herringbone hoodie, my Savile Row heart-throb has wooed me again. This type of Herringbone is most commonly used for hunting jackets and flat caps but here it is used to create a a sharply detailed take on an essential piece of casual wear suitable for the country and city gent. The elements are kept at bay by the full lining, leather drawstring and toggle fastening. Your Superdry hoodie should be embarrassed to call itself a hoodie.

Once you have fallen in love with this then you need not wait long to be united with your desire as it will be delivered to you by express courier. All online orders addressed to London postcodes – E, SE, SW, W, NW, N – made by 12 noon from Monday to Friday are now delivered on the same day!

Barber Natural Cardigan (£650 at Ede & Ravenscroft).

Barber Natural Cardigan (£650 at Ede & Ravenscroft).

Another menswear legend, Ede & Ravenscroft, also have a classic woollen outerwear option. Knitted in soft Scottish cashmere, this chunky cable knit cardigan is a luxurious staple for your weekend wardrobe. It features a ribbed shawl collar and brown leather football buttons. As the shop recommends itself “Wear it with a shirt and chinos for an elegant casual look.” Interestingly, to me any way, many of the menfolk I know in the military seem to have variations on this man’s cardigan. Has the C-word put you off?

Mix It Up Funnel Jumper (£39.95 at Joe Borwns).

Mix It Up Funnel Jumper (£39.95 at Joe Borwns).

Now for a garment that reminds me of gap year travellers. This is cable knit, but with a difference. The funnel neck and bright sleeves suggest Peruvian adventures to me. Regardless of whether you have been to Peru or not, this a great for sitting around weekend fires-travel bragging optional.

My only warning gents, you may find sisters, partners and female friends “borrowing” these.

This entry was published on November 14, 2014 at 00:23. It’s filed under Apple of my Eye, SSF Considers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

