Hermes Carré by Numbers

Hermes’ Carré is an icon fashion product. One day I hope to own one of these silk squares. I have images of myself wrapping upon around my head like a 50s Hollywood film siren or tying it nonchalantly around the handles of my handbag as a ribbon of colour. Perhaps I will pass it on to a beloved family member as a token of affection. In the meantime, I am relishing in some intriguing facts about this smooth treasure.

Debut: 1937
Starting size: 70cm²
Starting price: £235
No. artists designing images: 50
Colour palette: 750,000 hues
Designs created: 2,500
Length of silk rolls sent to Lyon printer: 100-150m
Average time to make printing screen: 750 hrs

This entry was published on November 2, 2014 at 20:04. It’s filed under Apple of My Eye, Sartorialists, SSF Considers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

