Everyday Urban Dancing

There is something electric about dancing which sends (good) shocks around my body. As soon as I hear music my feet and legs start jiving subconsciously. If my iPod is on in public I have to fight this impulse so hard in order that onlookers do not think me strange.

Dance apparel and shoes are also an unrelenting personal thrill. Even though I never learnt to tap dance when I was about seven years old I persuaded my mum to buy me a pair of white tap shoes. As I clip-clopped down my street like a horse a little squeak of ecstasy left my mouth. For the first time since I was three I am not involved in some dance class or group. Nevertheless, I still covet dance items I do not essentially need. For instance, when some leg warmers were reduced to £15 at Sweaty Betty I could not resist.

One cold day, when I was confronted with a flat viewing then swim squad straight after followed by a cold walk home I teamed the leg warmers up with a cable knit sweater from an outlet at Ben Nevis in Scotland, Joe Browns leggings and floral high tops from Taiwan. You might say I was channelling my dancing soul.

2014-10-08 17.05.31 2014-10-08 17.06.15 2014-10-08 17.06.34

Autumn and Winter are great excuses for layering relaxed dance pieces. My eye is on Sweaty Betty’s simple box hoodies and leotard. If you fancy some legwarmers like mine then this season they have some lovely grey ones available.

Devant Dance Leotard (£70) and Chaines Legwarmer (£29) both from Sweaty Betty.

Devant Dance Leotard (£70) and Chaines Legwarmer (£29) both from Sweaty Betty.

Pas De Deux Dance Knit (£85 Sweaty Betty)

Pas De Deux Dance Knit (£85 Sweaty Betty)

I also spotted a steamy leopard print leotard by Adidas in MissVogue; simply teamed with a pair of skinny jeans and a chunky necklace and you have a super comfy urban outfit for day or night.

2014-09-16 16.57.52

Today I came across Ballerina Project which has taken some of my social inhibitions away about moving in public. The photographer Shane Shitagi captures current and former pro ballerinas in graceful compositions by juxtaposing incongruous clothes and surroundings with the raw energy of the dancers’ movements. Follow the project on Instagram, Tumblr, Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Melissa - 86th Street, Brooklyn (by Shane Shitagi for Ballerina Project).

Melissa – 86th Street, Brooklyn (by Shane Shitagi for Ballerina Project).

Flash dance anyone?

This entry was published on October 16, 2014 at 23:34. It’s filed under Apple of my Eye, SSF Considers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

