Eat with it or Wear it

Finally, I managed to have dinner with an old uni buddy. Our rooms were down the corridor from each other in first year at Sheffield and our bond was enforced by the gruelling game of lacrosse. Five years later, we are both finally working (and living with our parents) in London and after much difficulty, being modern women we are impossibly busy, we managed to set a dinner date. In tribute to my alma mater I thought I would share a special piece of jewellery with you.

During my first year in Sheffield my dad was struggling to find me a Christmas present so I bought a ring on his behalf. At the top of Ecclesall Road is The Original Sheffield Shop, a present saviour. Whilst hunting for my own presents to give I came across bracelets, rings and earrings made of old pieces of Sheffield cutlery. I love finding new life in the old and with one of these pieces I could wear a bit if Sheffield’s history and pride. Following a tough deliberation I settled on a ring made out of an old teaspoon.

This entry was published on October 7, 2014 at 22:31. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

