Triathlete or Hair Model? Both!

Itchy scalp, white flakes on your shoulders: not attractive. Around 18 months ago I began suffering from dry scalp which ultimately developed into dry, straw-like hair. My long red hair has been my defining physical feature and a great point of personal pride my whole life so to see it loose its lustre was mortifying. Speaking honestly, I can hardly blame nature for this result. I have always enjoyed outdoor pursuits, work in a heavily air vented environment, train in all weather for triathlons, swim and paid scant attention to the hair products I use. Clearly, something had to give.

When it comes to hair advice, the man I grew up in the same street with and who now runs the salon literally at the end of my road is my first port of call. Syd Heyes at Q Cut on Sandycomb Road in Kew Gardens is a man of staggeringly diverse experience. In the same week he will be chatting to an older resident of Kew over her blue rinse then be in South America on the set of a Vogue shoot. For the sheer mixture of heads he has coiffed I respect his impartial hair product advice. He suggested I try Kerastase Biotic Bain Bio-Recharge. I noticed an immediate difference in the gloss and texture of my locks but the effect was not enough for my dream of attaining a mane worthy of a TV commercial. My mission had only just begun.

During work briefings I began taking note of the smooth locks on some of my colleagues and asked them what they did to deserve them. One colleague said she consistently used one brand, saying chopping and changing was an absolute no-no. Another colleague admitted to doing nothing special but refrained from washing too much. Next time I went to see Syd I tried a wash-in and heat Kerastase treatment but again the effects were not as long lasting as I had hoped.

Frustration and depression were sinking in when one day I saw an advert for Dove’s Damage Solutions Intensive Repair Express Treatment Conditioner in a magazine. I asked Syd what he had heard about this product. Being honest, he said “nothing” but that I should give it a go. So I did and I was delightedly surprised. Generally, I only wash my hair once or twice a week but by using the above two products together my hair has regained its shine and softness without having to resort to changing my lifestyle, hobbies or crying at the check-out.

This entry was published on September 12, 2014 at 23:08. It’s filed under SSF Considers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

