Cheese, Sea Air and Elephants

After a body-shocking early start on Friday morning I landed at La Rochelle airport, a rather grandiose title for a strip of tarmac and concrete bungalow. Greeting me under the marquee ‘arrivals hall’ was my mum, ready to scoot me off to the quaint Ile de Re where the likes of Johnny Depp and Vanessa Paradis have been known to spend their holidays. The island is perfect for peloton and seafood lovers.

 

Pottering around the holiday homes on the Ile de Re is such a pleasure.

Pottering around the holiday homes on the Ile de Re is such a pleasure.

2014-08-08 11.37.49

 

Taking advantage of the early hour, Mum and I scooted her Mini into La Flotte for a peruse. Meandering amongst the bakeries, which were the only shops open, Mum and I found ourselves in the medieval market where fromageries,  delicatessens and coffee vans displayed their delectables. Whilst enjoying picking up items to satisfy our salivating mouths I was most excited by a stall exclusively selling vest tops. I am acutely aware that any picture or garment baring an animal on it will immediately sway my opinion and this occasion was no different. All the tops were an off white colour either decorated at the neckline with printed feathers or graphic designs. As you may have guessed, I was immediately drawn to the one with elephants on, elephants being my favourite animal. At 15 Euros I was pretty chuffed with my purchase, even more so when I got the second one (which I will give as a gift to someone) for 10 Euros. Today I have great pleasure wearing my new top around our local food market in Fontenay. 

This entry was published on August 9, 2014 at 16:37. It’s filed under Apple of my Eye and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Cheese, Sea Air and Elephants

  1. Love your pictures of St Martin de Ré. Our house is just round the corner from those. My other half is always picking things up in the markets to impress people back in the UK. http://islandholidayhome.wordpress.com/

Comments?

