Move Over Ray Bans, Here Comes Palens

As soon as the sun is out in the UK many people don their sunnies and adopt a cool swagger, just because I cannot see your eyes does not mean you are a film star: aviator wearers are the most guilty of this.

As some of you may know, I was recently in Munich, Germany, visiting a Spanish friend who I met whilst we were studying in China-call me international! I arrived in the city centre to be greeted by my friend and the mid-afternoon balmy heat. Weather in Munich is renowned for changing at the click of your fingers so my friend and I grabbed a couple of ice creams and drinks so we could settle down to a much needed catch-up by the canal of Englischer Garten. As the sun began preparing for bed my friend protected his eyes with a pair of sunglasses. I may not be a sunglasess connoisseur but I have seen a fair few on other people, including wooden ones but none like the ones by friend slipped on. Turns out they were handmade in Barcelona, Spain, by a brand called Palens

 

 

Enjoying the Munich sun in Englischer Garten wearing Palens sunglasses.

Enjoying the Munich sun in Englischer Garten wearing Palens sunglasses.

 

Looking at the Palens website frames come very much in retro designs, from Ray Ban-esque to more circular styles. Most styles come in your choice of natural wood to neon colours.

 

The 'Birdi' style in Zebrawood  129.10 Euros

The ‘Birdi’ style in Zebrawood 129.10 Euros

The 'Skate' frame in Bobby 182.09 Euros.

The ‘Skate’ frame in Bobby 182.09 Euros.

 

Sadly, unless I am mistaken, Palens eye-wear is only available in Spain-write in the comments below if you would like to correct me!

This entry was published on July 31, 2014 at 23:06. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

