Rags to Riches-without the riches

I cannot believe that it has been a year since I graduated from university. This time last year I was road-tripping with girlfriends in America who I had met during my year abroad. After a two month Summer holiday I was going to sit down and dedicate myself to finding a job. In line with the shift in gear from student to young profession my wardrobe was going to have to reflect this, but what did this mean?

Firstly, the ill-fitting clothes needed to be cast away. During the twelve years I spent living at boarding school and uni my weight had fluctuated dramatically, a pattern my wardrobe followed. Not knowing where my weight was heading I kept everything so I could accommodate this. However, this meant so much did not hang right and the one of the main ways to look great is not only a size but a fit issue. Having split my life between two places since I was eleven years old I had accumulated at least two wardrobes of clothes. The first things to go were the tired/loved clothes, the real sentimental pieces were duly found places but the rest was sent to the recycling centre, charity shops or the bin.

Of course, I also needed some smart new clothes for job interviews and the possibility of office wear. The jungle of office attire ranged from the unaffordable to the frumpy. To answer the interview necessity I chose a stunning navy dress from like the one below but longer. It is not predictable black but navy is conservatively safe. The stretch fit means it is unbelievably comfortable and sexily body-fitting but the ruches stop this from being distracting or suggestive. This was my first impression investment piece, the rest needed to be on more of a budget. Fortunately, Banana Republic and H&M had sales/answers. Many people see white shirts with pencil skirts as fail safe, I disagree. To be smart, white shirts need to be dazzling white, formerly white does not cut it. Also, for ladies, beware bra straps showing through, I have heard interviewers say they cannot take candidates seriously if they see neon or lacy bras flashing at them.

m&m dress

A purse friendly outfit for new job starters might follow something like this, simply add/swap costume jewellery to update the wardrobe and keep it interesting and add your personal touch:

Crinkled skirt H&M £24.99 Feminine, but not as threatening as a pencil skirt. Airy for the summer but on trend for A/W

Crinkled skirt H&M £24.99
Feminine, but not as threatening as a pencil skirt. Airy for the summer but on trend for A/W. Team with heels to prevent legs looking stumpy.

 

This linen Uniqlo top gives great contrasting texture, when tucked in the above skirt will accentuate the waist.

This linen £19.90 Uniqlo top gives great contrasting texture, when tucked in the above skirt will accentuate the waist.

The whole process of selecting and gutting my wardrobe, whilst time consuming, tiring and emotional was incredibly cathartic. I was embarking on a new phase of my young adult life and only holding on to the necessary from the past. This said, the Student Beans post titled ’16 style choices only students can get away with’ does make me miss the simplicity of student dress codes, sometimes.

 

This entry was published on July 8, 2014 at 21:12. It’s filed under SSF Considers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Comments?

